What is Psychotherapy?

peanuts-lucy1

When I first sought therapy many years ago I was hesitant, scared, and didn’t know what to expect. All I knew about therapy was what I’d seen in the movies and on television. My desperation overruled my fear and I am glad that I went. I am still in therapy today and it has done wonders. It, along with my hard work, a good support system, and medication has helped me to reach recovery and maintain it. I would not be here without the combination.

What is psychotherapy? It is basically talk therapy. Other terms include “counseling, psychosocial therapy, or simply therapy” (Mayo Clinic, http://www.mayoclinic.org/tests-procedures/psychotherapy/home/ovc-20197188). An individual, usually someone living with a mental disorder, seeks therapy from a licensed psychiatrist, psychologist, social worker, or other trained mental health professional. The person will learn about their illness, treatment, how to cope with life, and manage their symptoms (National Institute of Mental Health, http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/psychotherapies/index.shtml).

We could all benefit from having a confidential confidante to share our innermost thoughts and concerns. To have someone we can depend upon for professional, not just emotional, advice and guidance. For someone living with a mental disorder, such as depression and anxiety, it does wonders (I speak of these two specifically due to the fact that I struggle with these).

There are several different types of psychotherapy. Tomorrow, I plan to blog about the type of psychotherapy called Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy, also known as CBT. Please stay tuned for tomorrow’s blog post.

Also, I’d love to hear from each of you about what you’d like to read about or discuss. If you are hesitant to share it publically, feel free to email your suggestion to mendingandthriving@gmail.com. I will do my best to cover the topic and research for information about it. Thank you for following and reading my blog.

Susan

Leave a Reply

