Positive Affirmations

Sunset

“All that we are is the result of what we have thought. The mind is everything. What we think we become.” ~Buddha

Today, we are bombarded with stress and negativity, whether it’s from work, family, fashion magazines, or from our own thinking. It is important for us to balance out this negativity with positive thoughts, called affirmations.

What are affirmations? Affirmations are statements we say to ourselves in order to feel better about ourselves (to help with our self esteem and confidence), strengthen, or help direct us toward various goals and self improvement. A HuffingtonPost article explains that positive affirmations have been proven to rewire and push our brains into raising “the level of feel-good hormones” and forming “new clusters of ‘positive thought’ neurons.” This process enables us to change our pattern of negative thoughts and speech which often leads to negative actions. In other words, we begin to think and act in more positive, goal-oriented ways.

Personally, I have benefitted greatly from using positive affirmations. In times of stress and depression, I have used affirmations to help me through them. During my divorce, I used them to believe in myself and think better about myself during a time when I felt unloved, unworthy, hurt, betrayed, and unattractive. It’s like having a little friend sitting on your shoulder reassuring you of what a great person you actually are.

As mentioned earlier, positive affirmations can also help direct us toward a goal. It’s like we are encouraging and cheering ourselves toward the finish line.

 

The article, “How to Change Your Mind and Your Life by Using Affirmations,’ from the website Tiny Buddha features a helpful method on how to create your own personal affirmations (http://tinybuddha.com/blog/how-to-change-your-mind-and-your-life-by-using-affirmations/).

A few examples of positive affirmations:

  • “I forgive myself for not being perfect because I know I’m human.”
  • “I, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve my love and affection” (a paraphrase of a Buddha quote)
  • “I deserve to be happy.”
  • “I forgive myself.”
  • “I am imperfect, permanently and inevitably flawed. And I am beautiful.” (a paraphrase of an Amy Bloom quote)

What are some positive affirmations or quotes that you use or like? How have you benefitted from affirmations?

Don’t forget to enter our first giveaway drawing of a journal and pen case. To enter, email to mendingandthriving@gmail.com. One entry per follower. Winner will be drawn and announced on March 15th.

Leave a Reply

