Being Me

image

I used to feel like I needed to be dressed up and wearing makeup in order to be considered attractive, liked, and accepted. Often, if I wasn’t wearing makeup and dressed up I felt dread and apologetic for my appearance.

This photo is me today. I am not ashamed to share it…I am wearing no makeup. My face is a little wrinkled but I am okay with this look. Why? Because it is the real me…my face is a story of my life and who I am. I no longer feel the need to hide behind makeup.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I occasionally dress up and wear makeup on special occasions but I am no longer a slave to feeling the need to wear it…to put on a show. I’m finally getting comfortable in my own skin…with the person I am becoming. I am finally learning to accept and love me. It is freeing and I love it.

4 thoughts on “Being Me

  1. you shouldn’t be ashamed at all, as you said above. the world makes us think that we need to cover and disguise to look a certain way which is completely false!
    you have a lovely smile that radiates warmth. remember that x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

