According to FreeDictionary.com, a phobia is “a persistent, abnormal, and irrational fear of a specific thing or situation that compels one to avoid it, despite the awareness and reassurance that it is not dangerous.” I have struggled with this irrational fear of needles and spiders since I was a young child.

Most individuals understand my fear of spiders. It’s funny when I scream and run away whenever I see one close by. I have several stories where a police officer or nice gentleman has helped me remove one from my car.

The needle one is a different story. It’s not funny and I grow more ashamed of it the older I get. It impedes on me getting timely medical work done. I procrastinate getting blood tests done that I need every six months and I’ve cancelled having a colonoscopy twice due to my fear of IV’s.

I am proud to say I have worked through some of the issues with having blood tests. I no longer have to be sedated to have a blood test. In fact, I can now go into a doctor’s office and get tested without crying. Wow!

I still get nervous and it is obvious to everyone around me. I realized that my fear was in the needle going in. I calm down once it is inserted. I explain my fear to the nurse and ask that they continue putting the alcohol on my arm until right before they insert the needle. I hope this helps someone else. I also work on calming myself before I go and drink lots of water to make my veins easier to locate.

I’m still working on the IV’s. I am scheduled for a colonoscopy and a second endoscopy in the next several months. I’ll use an anti-anxiety medicine to help me remain calmer and not have to be held down. I had an Endoscopy this week and did well with the IV, while on the medicine.

My needle phobia goes back to when I was around two years old and was hospitalized. Mom says I had bruises on me from all the medical tests and blood work. I have no memory of this and yet, it still impacts me today. Wow!

What are your fears and phobias?

2 thoughts on “Fears & Phobias

  1. Hi,
    One of my fears is having a hip replacement-I have scheduled twice and have cancelled twice (in time for someone else to take the appointments), and I haven’t made an appointment yet. For some reason it helps to know that I’m not the only one who cancels medical appointments (I have also put off having a colonoscopy !!) I hate needles too!! When ever I got a shot or had blood work, I would faint!! I am doing better now, and don’t faint, but I don’t know how I learned how not to faint…just having to have it done often, I suppose I got use to it. It just plain hurts me to get a needle put in!! Plus, I have veins that are hard to get too, and it usually takes more than one stick to get to them! They say I have “rolling veins”!

    About 2 months ago I accidentally poured boiling water on me, and that was one of the most painful ordeals I have had to deal with!! I went to the ER and the doctor talked about putting in an IV, I said I didn’t want one, I would rather have medication taken orally, so that’s what happened…but I didn’t realize it would take the oral medication a lot longer to work than the IV-next time I want the IV!! Hopefully, one of these days soon I will reschedule my surgery and colonoscopy!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have cancelled having a colonoscopy several times too. I am scheduled to have one on the 24th. Whenever I have IV planned, I am prescribed several Lorazepam which helps calm me down. I had an IV done last week and did fine.

      I can’t imagine the pain you felt getting burned. How are you doing?

      Like

Leave a Reply

